In The News

January 26 , 2009 -

United Ambulance Service Renews HeartSafe Community Designation

United Ambulance Service’s Auburn/Lewiston EMS Division has recently received continued Platinum Level HeartSafe Community designation with our community partners, the cities and towns of: Auburn, Greene, Lewiston, Mechanic Falls, Minot, New Gloucester and Sabattus. 


The “Platinum” level designation is the highest level that any emergency medical service can obtain.  United’s initial HeartSafe designation was in August of 2006 and was granted by Maine EMS, Maine Cardiovascular Health Program, and the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention.


In order to receive this designation several areas of criteria had to be met.  Examples include: continued community and healthcare provider CPR instruction, blood pressure clinics and other cardiovascular related healthcare initiatives.  Additionally, emergency medical services must be licensed at the Paramedic level and have 12 Lead EKG equipment onboard ambulances. 


12 Lead EKG equipment is currently onboard 13 of United’s vehicles and help to provide diagnostic information regarding a patient’s heart rhythm.  In some cases the information can be used to help diagnosis certain types of heart attacks.  All United Paramedics are trained in evaluating 12 Lead EKG’s and perform them on a consistent basis depending on patient condition. 


United is extremely pleased with the continued designation as a HeartSafe Community.  As we continue with each day of service it remains part of our mission to continue to develop and implement new ways to improve cardiovascular related education initiatives for our community members and partners.  “Our community partners are one of the most important factors that assist United in providing the highest levels of patient care possible”, stated Brad Gilbert, Development/Compliance Manager for United.


Agencies that continually assist with the success of these initiatives/designation include: Androscoggin Sheriff’s Department, Auburn Fire Department, Auburn Police Department, Greene Fire & Rescue, Lewiston Fire Department, Lewiston Police Department, Mechanic Falls Fire Department, Mechanic Falls Police Department, Minot Fire and Rescue, New Gloucester Fire Department, Sabattus Fire Department, and the Sabattus Police Department.  In addition, Central Maine Medical Center and St. Mary’s Regional Medical Center are also included as participants in this HeartSafe Community recognition.    


If you would like more information about United Ambulance Service, please visit: For additional information regarding the HeartSafe Community Program, please visit:





  Our Locations:  
Bridgton Station: Main Office: Rodman Rd. Station: Wheelchair Office:
10 Hospital Dr. 192 Russell St. 215 Rodman Rd. 192 Russell St.
Bridgton, Me. 04009 Lewiston, Me. 04240 Auburn, Me. 04210 Lewiston, Me. 04240
207.647.3261(Bus.) 207.777.6006(Bus.)   207.782.8400
  Click here to request additional info